Mr James Hall, Minister-Counsellor, representing the Australian High Commissioner to PNG, Her Excellency Ms Deborah Stokes, today announced the recipients of the 2014 Archer Leadership Scholarships in Port Moresby.

The six winners of the year-long scholarships will benefit from an intensive suite of activities and programs in PNG and Australia, aimed at developing their leadership skills and abilities.

The scholarships, funded by a grant from the estate of the late Fred P Archer and managed by the Kokoda Track Foundation, aim to identify and foster an annual cohort of promising PNG leaders and will provide a range of opportunities and resources to enhance their leadership skills.

“The Kokoda Track Foundation has been providing scholarships to primary, secondary and tertiary students in the Kokoda catchment area since 2003,” its Chairman, Patrick Lindsay, said.

“The Archer Scholarships have allowed us to offer opportunities to students across PNG in our quest to help to find the next generation of the nation’s leaders.”

“The calibre of the applicants for the 2014 Archer Scholarships was again outstanding. We received applications from across PNG and the recipients were selected from a shortlist of 9 candidates, who were interviewed individually in Port Moresby,” Lindsay said.

 “Candidates must be between 18 and 35 years old, be PNG citizens and of PNG heritage and be in their final year of tertiary study.”

 The 2014 Archer Scholars are:

Masanu Debbie Akane, (Morobe, UPNG, Law)

Morrison Garth,  (Markham, PAU, Environmental Science)

Theresa Gizoria, (Aitape, UPNG, Environmental Science)

Stephannie Kirriwom, (Madang, UPNG, Law)

Bruno Siare,  (Central, PAU, Environmental Science)

Frederick So, (Kavieng, UPNG, Law){C}